It Takes Guts: Short story winners

28 May 2019

Congratulations to the winners of our It Takes Guts short story competition, which we ran to mark the charity’s 40th anniversary this year.

We asked entrants to send us a 500-word story on the theme of It Takes Guts.

We received over 40 astonishing stories and we are delighted to announce the winners of our competition; K.M. Dunn, Elizabeth Anne Ayres and Lucy Jenkins.

It takes guts to talk (or write) about Crohn’s and Colitis. The conditions are widely misunderstood, or hidden, and as a result people can be deprived of the support and care they should receive.

There is an abundance of astonishing real-life stories about how people live with Crohn’s or Colitis. Every day, they spark inspiration, admiration and a determination to overcome challenges. As judges we were moved and each story brought new voice to the charity -  all experts in their own lives - and  often with startling and imaginative writing that caused us to think long after turning the last page.

Dan McLean
Director of Communications and Competition Judge.

We want everyone talking about Crohn's and Colitis. In schools, homes, cafes and offices, our new It Takes Guts campaign will help people find the right words and tools to start the conversations that really matter.

Together we can help people start conversations that will change lives, and break the silence for good.

Read the winning stories!

Thank you to all of our entrants:

Jamie Horton
Elisabetta Sebastiani
Elaine Carter
Chris Chinn
Clive Lawrinson
Rhu Humphrey
Sarah Fox
Lucy Simons
Julia Walls
Kevin Mcmanus
Mervyn Crossick
Claire Leedham
Debbie Beaven
Amanda Badger
Rebecca Wilkinson
Sandra Grigg
Hayley Shedden
Julie Young
Joyce Carter
Mark Sadler
Joe Worsfold
Owen Brown
Elizabeth Ayres
Neil Rowley
Ryan Brunning
Nathan Barnett
Daniel Beal
Rose Todd
Rachel Fogarity
Lucy Jenkins
Matilda Pecover
Julie McKiernan
Tricia Hickling
Rebecca Sayle
K.M. Dunn
Patrycja Dynowska
Rebecca Parker
Lucy Menon-Gregory
Daniel Cotton
Sylvia Budd
Rececca Jenkins
Keith Law
Krystle Fenn